Multiplicity (my first reblog ever omg)

hydrogyne:

I didn’t realize that Multiplicity was actually a legitimate thing completely separate from mental disorders like DID.

Intriguing and thought-provoking.

I’m also kind of… jealous? I really hope that doesn’t offend or upset anyone who is in a multiple system gosh but

I really like the idea of never having to be alone.

Yeah, as a multiple system, there are definitely upsides to it. I think of it as a personality trait just like any other though – it can be worked with. There are definitely downsides for everyone, but it’s not necessarily a good thing or a bad thing – it’s just a thing, like synaesthesia or something. It’s another way of seeing the world.

I think a lot of multiples see this as very clear cut – it’s a ‘disability’ for some, for others just an inconvenience. But I don’t think everyone recognizes that there are so many upsides and downsides. Last night I had kind of a breakdown inworld, and there were people there to help me and pick me back up without me going anywhere. I mean sure, the breakdown was related to multiplicity, and there was a lot of inworld fighting too. There were upsides and downsides, but the upsides should be recognized as well.

I mean, certainly it’s nothing you should try to provoke or fake if you’re feeling down, but to say that you think multiples are cool or enviable in some ways shouldn’t be something you have to back up or feel defensive about, because it IS, in some ways, ‘cool’ and ‘enviable.’ 

Also, thanks for accepting that multiplicity is a separate thing, you seem to have an amazing ability not to just call bs and throw it out the window which I appreciate. It’s nice hearing from non-multiple people who accept us because there are plenty (PLENTYYY) out there who don’t.

Multiplicity (my first reblog ever omg)

Leave a comment